Seligman Justice Court

P.O. Box 56, Seligman, AZ 86337 54150 Floyd St, Seligman, Arizona

Phone: (928) 422-3281

EMAIL: seligmanjusticecourt2@courts.az.gov

Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00am-12:00pm 1:00pm-5:00pm (Arizona Time)

CAREFULLY READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS TO TAKE CARE OF YOUR TICKET

Your ticket may include up to 5 violations labeled A through E. The violations may be criminal or civil.

CRIMINAL AND CRIMINAL TRAFFIC:

You must <u>call the Court for instructions</u> by the appearance date on the bottom of your ticket. Failure to contact the Court may result in a WARRANT for your arrest.

CIVIL TRAFFIC: You must fill out the form on the other side of this sheet and return it in person, by email or by mail before the appearance date on the bottom of your ticket. Failure to return this completed form before your appearance date will result in a SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE.

PLEASE NOTE

The appearance date is NOT a hearing date. It is the <u>last day</u> you have to contact the court regarding your ticket to prevent the possible penalties: issuance of a warrant for your arrest, entry of a default judgment, a driver license suspension, and additional monetary penalties including a \$20.00 late fee pursuant to A.R.S. §12-116.

For all CRIMINAL and CRIMINAL TRAFFIC Violations Including 28-701.02A3 Speeding Charges YOU MUST CALL THE COURT FOR INSTRUCTIONS

DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE

ARS 28-4135 No Insurance Mandatory Fine and MVD Suspension

1st offense: \$938 fine, 3 month suspension 2nd offense: \$1,383 fine, 6 month suspension 3rd offense: \$1,828 fine, 1 year suspension

By pleading responsible and paying the fine your license, registration, and plates will be suspended by MVD for 3, 6, or 12 months depending on your prior convictions.

THE FULL FINE AMOUNT AND SUSPENSION WILL NOT BE IMPOSED IF YOU CARRY OUT THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS:

If you had insurance on the date of the offense:

Provide the court with proof of valid insurance by your appearance date and the charge will be dismissed.

If you did NOT have insurance on the day of the offense:

You may obtain <u>6 months</u> of insurance, provide proof of your new insurance and a copy of your MVD record* which has no prior convictions for ARS 28-4135 within the past 24 months or no more than one conviction within the past 36 months, and the fine will be reduced to \$130.00.

*Get a copy of your MVD record by visiting your local Motor Vehicle Department or you may go to www.azdot.gov or www.servicearizona.com

<u>Civil Traffic Fine / Bond Schedule</u>

For violation codes **28-702.04B** and **28-701A** MPH over POSTED LIMIT:

1-10 mnh over

\$140.00

T-10 Hibli over	\$140.00
11-15 mph over	\$190.00
16-20 mph over	\$290.00
21-25 mph over	\$390.00
26+ mph over	\$493.00
Fail to stop at stop sign	\$190.00
Following too Closely	\$190.00
Drive in One Lane	\$190.00
Approach Stationary Vehicle	\$538.00
	11-15 mph over 16-20 mph over 21-25 mph over 26+ mph over Fail to stop at stop sign Following too Closely Drive in One Lane Approach Stationary

Violations above are eligible for DDS.

Violations below do not have MVD Points associated with them and are **NOT** eligible for DDS.

28-959.01	Window Materials/Tint	\$115.00
28-2153A	No Current Registration	\$137.00
28-2158C	Failure to carry registration	\$137.00
28-873A	No stop, stand or park	\$115.00
(1-16)		
28-2532A	No current registration	\$582.00
	-with proof of registration	\$137.00
28-3151A	No Driver's license	\$137.00
28-702.01A	No more than 10 mph	\$75.00
28-909A, B	over posted speed Lap & shoulder belt	\$66.00

*CALL THE COURT FOR ALL OTHER VIOLATIONS
OR ANY QUESTIONS
(928) 422-3281

YOU MUST CHOOSE ONE OF THESE OPTIONS

ALL JUVENILE CASES, PARENT MUST CALL COURT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTION

Option #1:

Pay Fine by Mail (or at Court)

1. Read and sign the statement below

By signing below, I am pleading responsible to the violation(s) and waiving my right to a hearing. I understand that the court will enter a judgment of responsible, will report the finding to Motor Vehicle Division, and that points will be assessed to my driving record for any moving violations.

Sign:		
-		

2. Send this completed form along with your payment in the envelope provided and mail it to the Court. You may pay your fine with a CASHIER'S CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to "Seligman Justice Court" or you may pay online at websites below.

YOU CAN PAY ONLINE AT:

PAYMENTS. YAVAPAI. US

then click SELIGMAN JUSTICE COURT

FEES APPLY TO ALL CREDIT CARD TRANSACTIONS VISA, MASTERCARD OR DISCOVER

<u>OR</u>

AZCOURTPAY.COM

Civil Traffic Options

COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING FOR OPTIONS #1 & #2 AND MAIL TO THE COURT:

omplaint #
ame
lailing Address
hone #
EMAIL:

If you provide an email address – this is the form of contact that will be used

Option #2: Request a Hearing

HEARING REQUESTS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED AFTER THE DATE ON THE BOTTOM OF CITATION

By signing below:

- * I am pleading not responsible to the violation(s) and am requesting a hearing.
- *I understand that I will be notified of the hearing date by regular mail or email (if provided) and that I MUST APPEAR IN PERSON to contest the charge(s).
- *I understand that if I fail to appear, a default judgment, additional fees, and a suspension on my driver's license will be assessed.
- *I understand that I am giving up the option of attending Defensive Driving School to have my ticket dismissed.

Option #3 Defensive Driving School (DDS)

You may be eligible to have a <u>civil</u> traffic moving violation dismissed by attending Defensive Driving School (DDS) from an ARIZONA Certified School. You are not eligible if you have attended DDS within one (1) year. Attending DDS can dismiss only <u>ONE</u> violation. Completion of DDS means you will not pay the fine to the court and you will not have points assessed on your license.

You may attend defensive driving school online.

To attend DDS for dismissal of a violation:

1. Go to www.azdrive.com or call 1(888)334-5565 for a list of certified schools.

On www.azdrive.com:

- 1. Read all the information, then ENTER COURT DATE at bottom of page.
- 3. Choose from the list of certified schools.
- 2. You must pay for, enroll, and complete a <u>DISMISSAL class</u> at least <u>eight (8) days</u> <u>before</u> the appearance date on the bottom of your ticket.

IF YOU HOLD A COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE TO ATTEND DDS *UNLESS DRIVING A NON-COMMERCIAL VEHICLE AT THE TIME CITATION RECEIVED (Eff. 9/1/19)

If you are required to pay fines, penalties, fees or other financial obligations as a result of the judgment of this court and <u>you are unable to pay</u> bring this information to the attention of court staff or the Judge because payments over time or other alternatives may be available. Do not ignore your responsibility to pay, as this may result in additional penalties and costs to you. For more information, contact the court or an attorney or visit the following website https://azcourthelp.org