# YAVAPAI COUNTY Self-Service Center

### INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS: PROPOSED PATERNITY RESOLUTION STATEMENT TO THE COURT

# IMPORTANT!! DO NOT USE THIS FORM UNLESS:

- A. <u>You are requested to do so by a Judicial Officer.</u> The Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure require the parties or their attorneys to meet, confer, and submit a written Resolution Statement not less than 5 days in advance of a scheduled conference or hearing. OR
- A Response has been filed. The Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure require a written Resolution Statement to be completed and filed within 40 days of the Response being filed, OR

If the court has set a Resolution Management Conference, each party is required to meet with the opposing party to complete a written Resolution Statement and file it with the court at least 5 days in advance of the date of the Conference

NOTE: IF THERE IS A DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ORDER IN PLACE, YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED TO MEET WITH THE OTHER PARTY. YOU ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE REASONABLE STEPS TO RESOLVE YOUR ISSUES THAT WON'T VIOLATE THE COURT ORDER.

#### **INSTRUCTIONS:** Completing the Proposed Resolution Statement

- This form is where you <u>list any agreements</u> you have already reached with the other party and any other proposed positions. This form is <u>not used to list the arguments</u> you have in support of your position if your case goes to trial.
- The numbers of the instructions match the numbers on the form. Write in all requested information.
- (1) Skip this question unless you are currently receiving public assistance or you have received it in the past.

- (2) (4) List <u>all</u> agreements you have made with the other party even if they are incomplete (e.g. you have agreed upon weekend visitation, but not any days and times during the week). If you haven't reached an agreement, write in what you <u>propose</u> the court should order.
- (5) Complete only if you are requesting your child(ren)'s name(s) be changed. You will also need to complete an Order for a Name Change available at the Self-Service Center.
- (6) List any agreements or contested issues not covered in another part of this form.

# WHAT TO DO NEXT:

- 1. Make two (2) copies of the Resolution Statement. If Child Support is an issue in your case, you will also need to complete a **Parent's Worksheet** and make two (2) copies. The Parent's Worksheet is available at the Self-Service Center.
- 2. File the papers at THE SUPERIOR COURT. There will be no fee. The court is open from 8:00 a.m. -5:00 p.m., Monday Friday. You should go to the court at least two hours before it closes. It is recommended that you not bring your children with you. You may file your court papers at either of the following Superior Court locations:

Clerk of Superior Court YAVAPAI COUNTY COURTHOUSE 120 S. Cortez Street Prescott AZ 86303 Clerk of Superior Court YAVAPAI COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT 2840 N. Commonwealth Drive Camp Verde AZ 86322

**3.** Serve a copy of the Resolution Statement (and Parent's Worksheet if applicable) on the other party.

**DISCLOSURE AND DISCOVERY.** Parties are generally required to exchange information and documents about the case. For more complete information, see Rules 49-65 and 91 of the Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure (ARFLP) and the PRETRIAL PACKET and/or WITNESS AND EXHIBIT LIST PACKET available in the Self-Service Center.