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INSTRUCTIONS:  AFFIDAVIT FOR COLLECTION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 
 
 
The Affidavit is used only to collect a deceased person’s personal property.  This method of collection/ 
transfer cannot be used until 30 days after the death of the person, and is available only if the equity in 
all the deceased person’s personal property located in this state does not exceed $75,000 at the date of 
death. 
 
Any person(s) entitled to the personal property in question, may execute (sign) the Affidavit on his or her 
own behalf (see especially ARS §14-3971 (B).).  The signature of each person signing the Affidavit must 
be notarized.  When you execute the Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property, you may be required to 
show or provide a certified copy of the death certificate to the person or agency holding the property.  If 
an attorney is acting on your behalf, he or she must be licensed to practice law in Arizona. 
 
 
READ THROUGH THE AFFIDAVIT COMPLETELY. 
 
In completing the Affidavit, be specific as to the information that pertains to your circumstances.  
TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK INK. 
 

#1 - Fill in name of deceased and date of death. 
 

#2 - Provide description of your relationship to the person who died with enough detail to enable 
the reader to determine right of succession if necessary. 

 
#3 - Read each choice carefully and mark the appropriate box (one only). 

 
#4 - Mark the appropriate box.  If you check the box that says the person died without a will 

(intestate), mark the one box under that selection that applies. 
 

#5 - Provide name, relationship to decedent, and relationship to you of any other person who may 
have a right to the deceased person’s personal property. 

 
#6 - Read all choices carefully.  Check the one box that applies. 

 
#7- This statement must be true or you cannot use this Affidavit. 

 
#8- Give complete legal description of vehicle/account/or asset.  More than one vehicle or 

account may be included in a single affidavit, although it is recommended that a separate 
affidavit be used for each asset. 

 
#9- List all debts that decedent was entitled to collect.  More than one debt may be included in a 

single affidavit, although it is recommended that a separate affidavit be used for each debt 
(unless it is owed by the same person or agency). 

 
#10- Must be true or you cannot use this Affidavit. 

 
  

Superior Court or Arizona in Yavapai County Page 1 of 2 PBSEPP11i 
September 13, 2013 



The Affidavit MUST be signed before a notary.  IF more than one person is executing (signing) the 
Affidavit, each signature must be notarized.  You may add additional signature and notary lines to the 
Affidavit. 
 
Make a copy of each Affidavit for your records.  Take an original Affidavit to each person or agency from 
whom you are collecting the personal property. 
 
If you want or need to record an Affidavit, take the original to the Yavapai County Recorder office 
located at 1015 Fair Street, Prescott Arizona.  Business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday 
through Friday.  You may call that office at (928)771-3244 for additional information. 
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