

## Clerk of Superior Court

Camp Verde Superior Court 2840 N. Commonwealth Drive Camp Verde, Arizona 86322 Phone (928) 567-7741 Fax (928) 567-7720 Yavapai County Courthouse 120 S. Cortez Prescott, Arizona 86303 Phone (928) 771-3312 Fax (928) 771-3111 Juvenile Justice Center 1100 Prescott Lakes Parkway Prescott, Arizona 86301

Donna McQuality, Clerk Kelly Gregorio, Chief Deputy

> Phone (928) 771-3103 Fax (928) 777-7989

## MARRIAGE LICENSE INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR WEDDING OFFICIATOR

The office of the Clerk of the Superior Court is providing the following information to assist you in complying with the Arizona Revised Statutes pertaining to the recording of marriage licenses. These are only some of the requirements. For more information, please review the entire statute: §ARS 25-101 – 129 and §ARS 25-901 - 906.

 The marriage is not valid unless the marriage is solemnized before the expiration of the marriage license application (ARS 25-111)

The expiration date is found in the middle, bottom right hand corner of the "Certificate of Marriage": "License to marry expires twelve months from date of issuance".

If the expiration date has lapsed, the marriage will be invalid, and the license will not be recorded by this office.

• Please ensure the document is fully executed (ARS 25-125) with only black or dark blue ink.

Fill in the date of the wedding and the city where the marriage took place.

Ensure that all parties to the ceremony, <u>including yourself</u>, have signed both the top and bottom portions of the license (a total of five (5) signatures).

Print your name on the bottom portion of the license where indicated.

Be sure two of the witnesses are 18 years of age or older.

 Mail or hand carry the record of marriage (the bottom portion) to the Clerk of Superior Court within 30 days of the ceremony. (ARS 25-128)

Return the marriage license and certificate of marriage (the top portion) to the couple.

Violation of this statute is a Class 2 Misdemeanor.