

Camp Verde Superior Court 2840 N. Commonwealth Drive Camp Verde, Arizona 86322 Phone (928) 567-7741 Fax (928) 567-7720 Yavapai County Courthouse 120 S. Cortez Prescott, Arizona 86303 Phone (928) 771-3312 Fax (928) 771-3111 Juvenile Justice Center 1100 Prescott Lakes Parkway Prescott, Arizona 86301

> Phone (928) 771-3103 Fax (928) 777-7989

Donna McQuality, Clerk Kelly Gregorio, Chief Deputy

MARRIAGE LICENSE INSTRUCTION SHEET

Congratulations on your upcoming marriage. Please read the instructions below carefully, as they are critical to the validity of your marriage and the proper recording of your license. Please review your license carefully to be sure that your names are spelled correctly.

The license is in two parts. The top portion is yours to keep. The bottom portion must be returned to the Clerk of the Superior Court at either the Prescott or Camp Verde address listed above by the judge or clergy member who performs your wedding ceremony within 30 days of the solemnization (A.R.S. 25-123(B).

Your marriage must take place by the expiration date printed on your license. You will be required to purchase a new license if your marriage does not take place by that date. (§A.R.S. 25-111)

The top and bottom portions of the license must be completed fully. The city, date, signatures of the Applicants and two witnesses, and the person performing the ceremony are required in the appropriate fields of the license. Your witnesses must be eighteen years of age or older. Please use black or dark blue ink only. If any of the information is incomplete, illegible or incorrect, we will not be able to record your marriage until the information is completed or corrected.

The top portion of the license is not a certified copy. To obtain a legal name change, some agencies such as passport services, Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services, or military services may require a certified abstract or a certified copy. Some agencies may accept the top portion for name change purposes. Inquire at the appropriate agency to determine if certification is required.

If you prepaid \$30.50 for a certified copy of the certificate of marriage or \$30.00 for a certified abstract at the time you purchased your license, the document will be mailed to you at the address you provided during the application process. Please be sure you have provided a valid, current address to receive this copy.

According to state law (§A.R.S.25-128), the person who performed your marriage ceremony must return the completed license to the Clerk of the Superior Court within thirty (30) days of the ceremony. Accordingly, we expect to be able to provide a certified copy six (6) weeks after your wedding. If you would like to check on the status of the recording of your license, please call 928-771-3312 or 928-567-7741.

You may also obtain a certified copy or an abstract at our Prescott or Camp Verde locations listed above. Before visiting, please call 928-771-3312 (Prescott) or 928-567-7741 (Camp Verde) to be sure we have recorded your license

Visit us at our website: http://courts.yavapaiaz.gov/clerk/