YAVAPAI COUNTY
Self-Service Center

PREPARING AND ASKING FOR A TRIAL DATE
DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASE

GENERAL INFORMATION

All parties to a case may appear at a trial before a judge or judge and jury to present their positions
on the unresolved issues in the case. A trial appearance requires you to have filed the right papers
and be prepared to present and defend your position to the judge or judge and jury.

Self-represented persons are required to know and do everything necessary
just as if a lawyer were doing it. Proper procedures must be followed. No
allowance is made for a person who does not understand or is unaware of
things that must be done.

The forms and instructions in this packet are commonly required to be filed after a
Response has been filed and before Trial. A general filing timeline is below:

Within 40 days after Responseisfiled...................ooco Initial Disclosure Statement
Within 90 days after Response isfiled...........cccoooiiiiiiiiiies Joint or Separate ADR Statement
Pretrial Statement (see PRETRIAL STATEMENT PACKET)

There might be other things that must be done in your particular case. Itis your responsibility to
do what must be done. The Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure (ARFLP) apply to all aspects
of domestic relations cases. The ARFLP are available at the Law Library at the Courthouse in
Prescott and might be available at public libraries.

BEFORE A TRIAL

1. ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION (ADR)

ARFLP Rule 66 requires all parties in a case to discuss whether there may be another way
to settle the issues without going to trial. These discussions may be in person or by
telephone, must be made in good faith and must take place within 90 days of the first
appearance of a respondent or defendant in the case. The first appearance is usually
when the Response is filed with the Court. After these discussions take place, a report
called the Joint or Separate ADR Statement must be completed and signed by all parties
and filed with the Court.

A Joint or Separate ADR Statement form and instructions are included.

Superior Court of Arizona in Yavapai County Page 1 of 4 GT51i
January 2006 Use only most current version




There are several possible options for ADR, including some available through the Court.
The names of professional private ADR specialists can be found in the Yellow Pages under
Mediators or Arbitrators.

Some type of ADR must have taken place, or the Court must have granted permission for
the case to proceed without ADR, before a trial date can be set.

2. DISCLOSURE AND DISCOVERY

Parties are required to exchange information and documents about the case through
and including asking for a trial date. There are many kinds of discovery. Five of the most
common are a “disclosure statement,” “depositions”, “interrogatories”, “admissions” and
“document production.”

o Adisclosure statement is used by the parties to disclose to each other, in writing,
information about their case within 40 days after the Response has been filed with
the Court. A Disclosure Statement form and instructions are included in this

packet.

o Adeposition is a meeting arranged by a party on one side of a case, or his/her
attorney, in order to question a party on the opposing side of the case. These
questions are answered UNDER OATH and a court reporter makes a word-for-word
record of the deposition. There are many rules connected with depositions.

e Interrogatories are written questions that seek information and are submitted to a
party on one side of the case by a party, or his/her attorney, on the other side of the
case. Generally, the questions must be answered, in writing, and returned within
certain time limits.

e Admissions are another set of written questions submitted to a party on one side of
the case by a party, or his/her attorney, on the other side of the case. Generally,
the questions must be answered, in writing, and returned within certain time limits.
Rather than requesting information, they seek voluntary acknowledgements from a
party as to the existence of certain facts.

e Document Production involves the inspection of documents or other items in
possession of the opposing party. Rules must be followed to view these documents.

THERE ARE PENALTIES IF A PARTY REFUSES TO ATTEND OR ANSWER QUESTIONS AT A
DEPOSITION or FAILS TO COMPLETELY ANSWER AND RETURN INTERROGATORIES or
IGNORES OTHER DISCOVERY REQUESTS FROM THE OPPOSING SIDE or MISSES
DEADLINES FOR CERTAIN TYPES OF DISCOVERY.

For more complete information and other types of discovery, see the ARFLP Rules 49-65,
particularly Rule 65 that explains the penalties for failure to comply with discovery
requirements.

3. ASKING FOR A TRIAL DATE
Any party may request a trial date by filing a Motion to Set. By filing this form, the party is
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certifying that s/he has completed, or will have completed, the procedures under ARFLP at
least thirty (30) days before trial. If you are unclear on what these rules require, the ARFLP
are available in the Law Library.

A Motion to Set is included in this packet.

4.

SCHEDULING AND PRETRIAL CONFERENCES

At a Scheduling Conference held soon after the Motion to Set is filed, the judge sets the
trial date, deadlines for completion of discovery and filing of motions, and may discuss the
possibility of settlement. Problems with discovery may be discussed and penalties decided.
The judge may order you to submit a Joint Case Management Report.

A Pretrial Statement might also be required in your case (see Rules 76-77, ARFLP). A
PRETRIAL STATEMENT packet is available in the Self-Service Center.

After a trial is set, you may be required to attend a Pretrial Conference with the judge and
the other party and any attorney involved in the case. This conference may occur some
time before the day of trial or on the day of trial, shortly before the trial is scheduled to start.

A conference held the day of trial is when procedural issues of the trial will be discussed
and resolved, such as how long each side needs to present the case. Any pending motions
may be argued and decided.

There can be more than one Pretrial Conference in a case.

THE SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE

You may be required to attend a Settlement Conference where you will meet with the other
party and any attorney involved in the case to discuss the unresolved issues. The Court
offers this chance for the parties to try to reach an agreement without having to go to trial.

If all issues can be settled at this Conference, no trial will be held and the case can be
concluded. If some, or all, issues remain unresolved, the trial will proceed at a later date
and additional forms will generally need to be filed (see packet in the Self-Service Center.)

INSTRUCTIONS: DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The disclosure statement is NOT filed with the Clerk of the Superior Court. It is given to the
other party (make a copy for yourself) to show that all the required documents have been
given, or are being given, to them. It is due within 40 days after the Response was filed.
See Rule 49 of the Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure for additional information.

The Proposed Resolution Statement was provided in your Petition or Response packet.
You may obtain another copy from the Self-Service Center. The Affidavit of Financial
Information is also available at the Self-Service Center.

ADR STATEMENT TO THE COURT

The ADR statement IS filed with the Clerk of the Superior Court to show the court that the
parties have attempted to settle their issues. Before filing, make two (2) copies — one for
you and one for the other party. There won't be a filing fee. You will need to mail, hand-
deliver or fax a copy to the other party. See Rules 66-75 of the Arizona Rules of Family
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Law Procedure for additional information.

MOTION TO SET

Any party may file a Motion to Set requesting that a case be set for trial, unless a trial has
already been set. See Rule 77 of the Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure for additional
information. Make two (2) copies before filing with the Clerk of the Superior Court. You will
need to mail, hand-deliver or fax a copy to the other party.

Self-represented persons are required to know and follow proper procedures, just
like an attorney. The Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, which are found in the
Law Library, contain the rules you are required to follow. No allowance is made for a
person who does not understand or is unaware of things that must be done.

WARNING! IF YOU IGNORE A COURT ORDER, FAIL TO ADEQUATELY PREPARE
FOR A SCHEDULED CONFERENCE OR HEARING, OR FAIL TO ATTEND A
CONFERENCE OR HEARING, THE JUDICIAL OFFICER MAY ORDER SANCTIONS
AGAINST YOU, INCLUDING HOLDING YOU IN CONTEMPT OF COURT OR
REQUIRING YOU TO PAY THE OTHER PARTY'S ATTORNEY FEES.

IF YOU DO NOT HEAR FROM THE COURT WITHIN A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME,
CONTACT THE COURT TO SEE IF THERE IS SOMETHING ELSE YOU MUST DO.

BECAUSE A TRIAL IS A COMPLICATED AND EXTREMELY IMPORTANT PROCEEDING, IT IS
STRONGLY RECOMMENDED YOU SEEK THE HELP AND ADVICE OF AN ATTORNEY.
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